Who We Are

The Evansville Area Fundraising Council (EAFC) was established May 21, 1999 as a professional association for development officers and allied professionals to:

  • Advance the educational and professional expertise of members
  • Provide members access to tools and resources to develop skills in the profession, including the Certificate in Fundraising Management, and the Certified Fundraising Executive designation.
  • Provide various forums to help develop skills in every area of fund development.
  • Promote planned giving in the Southwest Indiana region especially through Leave A Legacy
  • Provide a forum for members to discuss specific planned giving issues
  • Encourage networking and support among its members
  • Encourage and uphold ethical practices and standards developed by the National Association of Charitable Planners and the Association of Fundraising Professionals

Our membership includes gift officers from a variety of educational, religious, health, cultural, and social organizations. Consultants and advisors such as attorneys, accountants, financial and estate planners, trust administrators and investment and insurance specialists also are members. The EAFC is a member council of the National Association of Charitable Gift Planners, and serves as a link to the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP), Leave A Legacy, and Certified Fund Raising Executive International (CFRE).

In December of 1998, a group of interested individuals met to discuss establishing an association dedicated to professional fund development for gift officers and allied professionals. The individuals who first met for this purpose were: David A. Bower, University of Southern Indiana Foundation, Susanne Emge. St. Mary’s Hospital Foundation, Marilyn J. Klenck, Community Foundation Alliance, Jane Kline, Evansville Museum, Donna M. Leader, Catholic Foundation of Southwestern Indiana, Robert W. Lensing, Judge, Vanderburgh Superior Court (died 2011), Peggy Sandgren, University of Evansville, Reed S. Schmitt, Attorney-At-Law, President, Evansville Bar Association, Nancy Sieben (Nancy Sieben Koehler, died 2017), Deaconess Hospital Foundation, Gail Knight Williams, Tri-State Public Teleplex, Inc., Julia H. Wood, Evansville Area Community of Churches, Amy Walker, Public Education Foundation, Sylvia A. Young DeVault, University of Evansville.

This group formed a steering committee, which met several times from December 1998 through April 1999. The Evansville Area Fundraising Council was known first as the Evansville, Indiana Council of the National Committee on Planned Giving or Evansville Council NCPG. The first official Board of Directors meeting and the actual date of establishment was May 21, 1999.

Elections were the first order of business resulting in the following appointments: President, David A. Bower, Vice President Elect, Gail Knight Williams, Vice President Programs, Lezlie J. Simmons, Secretary, Jane Kline and Treasurer, Sylvia A. Young. At-large members: Laura M. Nicholson, Marilyn J. Klenck, Peggy Sandgren, Nancy Sieben.

On November 12, 2004, the Bylaws were amended to reflect the name change to Evansville Area Fundraising Council. This change was requested by the membership to more accurately describe the work of most members. The overwhelming majority of the membership was not involved in planned giving work per se but rather served in broader capacities.

The reason the founding members chose to align officially with NCPG and not AFP was three-fold. In 1999, dues for NCPG were much less than those for AFP, the home office was in Indianapolis, and there was an AFP Chapter in Owensboro. Since those first sixteen individuals gathered, EAFC has grown to a membership which fluctuates between 75 and 90.

EAFC continues to provide the Evansville and the Tri-State region quality programming for development and allied professions eight times each year, including the annual Leave A Legacy luncheon as well as the opportunity to earn a Certificate in Fundraising Management (CFRM) here in Evansville. The course work for this prestigious certification from The Fund Raising School, Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, has been offered through EAFC since 2010. Each section is offered the first full week of November in consecutive order. This allows individuals to avoid the extra expense of meals and lodging in Indianapolis, as well as time away from family.

If you are not a member, please reach out to a Board Director and ask for information.

Our Board of Directors 


Denise Seibert, President
Director of Development, The Arc of Evansville

Angie Richards Cooley, Vice President
Executive Director, Ark Crisis Child Care Center

Rev. Michael Erwin, Treasurer
Director, Church Campaign Services, LLC

Mark Moore, Secretary
Annual & Planned Giving Officer, Deaconess Foundation

Committee Chairs

Kim Mulfinger,  Membership Chair
Executive Director, St. Vincent's Center for Children and Families

David Bower, Program Chair
Director of University Development and President USI Foundation, University of Southern Indiana

Andrea Gentry, Fundraising School Chair
Associate Director of Development , USI Foundation

Samantha Rainey , Website
Marketing/Development Specialist Ark Crisis Child Care Center

Amber Embrey, LEAVE A LEGACY ® Chair
Assistant Director, Development & Communications Indiana University School of Medicine-Evansville


Tad Dickel
President, Mater Dei High School

Abigail Werling
Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations University of Evansville


Please contact anyone you know on the Board of Directors for more information or contact President Denise Seibert at P.O. Box 114 Evansville, IN 47701 or E-mail denise.seibert@arcofevansville.org.